Drawing my dreams across the sky

I can say a lot about where I have come from. I can say a lot about how and what my circumstances have made me. Anyhow, I will talk about how I will make the most of my circumstances and my personality.

The last and purple box is what this is all about - moving forward. Courtesy of myself

Ever since the age of 4, I have nurtured a creative sense within me. I am primarily a musician – I play guitar and piano and compose a lot of music, however, I also like indulging myself in the visual arts. I have demonstrated my skills on many occasions and have been told that I am rather dexterous at being creative. Personally, I find great delight in designing aesthetic aspects and mechanical aspects of systems. Therefore, in the future I would like to pursue a career that entails creativity in this manner and also involves a lot of lateral thinking.

An example of my creativity

On the other hand, I have always unfailingly loved the sciences and engineering. I have constantly demonstrated a proficiency in all of these throughout my secondary school career and found that my desire to solve problems matches those of mechanical engineers. to me, finding the simplest solution to mechanical problems is gratifying beyond description.

 

 

Image 1: Silver Lining

Finding the silver-lining between both of the interests that govern my life, I have been told, is tough but it exists nevertheless. Acoustics is the one career path where I can amalgamate my creative and technical skills for the sake of engineering beautiful sound.

However, it is not just my interest in the sciences and music that has instigated me to choose this path of action, I have also been inspired by being able to recognize room for improvement in the acoustics industry. I recognize that sound can have a great impact on the state of the human mind, thus it is necessary to filter and emphasize particular components of sound. I find that many a time, companies producing acoustic transducers tend to overlook this. Furthermore, developing such technology can also have a great impact in the medical industry. This, I hope, will be my focus in acoustics in the future.

Thus, my aim at Georgia Tech is to receive a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering and find ways to specialize in acoustics. I would like to develop skills in design and research and apply these in my future job.

Nonetheless, academics aside, I would like to develop leadership and communication skills at Georgia Tech as well, as I believe that these would help me in my professional life, where the ability to communicate is as important as being proficient in all technical aspects. Furthermore, acoustic transducers are all about communicating through beautiful sound.

Image 2: The dream. My dream.

My dream is to land myself a job at Bose, as I believe it is one of the leading companies in acoustical design systems. In my opinion, it is the one place where the aesthetics of a product (visual and aural) are at par with technical flamboyance.

Ever since I first came across this company, I have admired their work ethic. They always strive to make the best by making sure that they always apply their research in creative ways and always strive to produce the best that they possibly can.

However, this does not mean that I am not open to working for other companies in the future. Other companies that I would like to work for include: Bang&Olufsen; Seinheisser; Meridien.

Besides acoustics, I am considering a career path in Energy aspects of production in companies. This is a field that my father works in, which is the reason behind my fascination. My growing understanding of the mechanisms that cause the waste of energy has made me evermore passionate about the issue. I find that this field too requires a mixture of creative and technical skills due to the immense number of possible solutions to the problem of energy waste.

 

 

 

Sources:
Image 1: http://finkorswim.com/2011/07/17/silver-linings-an-explanation-and-an-apology/
Courtesy of RABBIFINK
Image 2: http://tekarazzi.com/2011/04/30/bose-gives-majority-of-shares-of-company-to-mit/
Courtesy, Trademark and Copyright of Bose

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Drawing my dreams across the sky

  1. I enjoy my own creativity. I feel like creativity is what makes the world evolve and appreciate what it has to behold. That’s why I chose CM over CS. It allows me to use my creative side with computers rather than just simple coding.

  2. That’s really really cool. I am quite similar in that I’ve always been good at science, but also loved being creative with my knowledge. The science I am interested in is Computer Science and I’m finding there are so many more ways than I thought that I can apply this creativity to my field. I would love to go into an area that pertains to human-computer interaction and media, whether it’s developing UIs or game engines. It’s awesome that you have such a set goal already, it really helps with college. Good luck!

  3. “I would like to develop leadership and communication skills at Georgia Tech as well, as I believe that these would help me in my professional life.” How are you going to do this? Do you have any ideas on what will help you do this? You want to have a plan, or at least an idea for you too accomplish this goal. Food for thought…

    • I’m planning on joining a few clubs and definitely do a lot of things with media. But I’m not entirely sure and my plan isn’t too well defined. Thanks for pointing that out 🙂

Leave a comment