Breaking News – Read post for more information.

I haven’t posted in a while, and if you’ve been looking out for new posts all this while, I’m extremely sorry.

BUT

Guess what I’ve got? GOOD NEWS!!!

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been going around campus filming for the music video that my group is supposed to make for the invention mob. It’s been incredibly fun walking around Tech campus watching everyone wonder why I was walking rather purposefully with a strange looking object in hand. I’ve gotten some pretty good results so far.

This is the camera that I've been walking around with. I didn't want to show my face in this picture though.

What exactly have I been doing?

I’ve been working on getting footage for the instrumental parts of the song. I figured that for the first part of the song, the title of the song and the artist (That’s me!) would be introduced, and possibly some footage from around campus would be shown. This would help set the atmosphere for the audience by portraying where the video is set and also because this footage would not have any emotional intensity. I plan to dub my voice over the music at this part in order to introduce what the rest of the video will be about and give some context to the song.

Besides this, I’ve also had the job of creating footage for the instrumental part in the bridge. For this, I went around my residence holding in one hand a paper with a question mark drawn on it and in the other a pencil. I asked people to draw or write what the song made them feel like when they listened to it. Each time, I asked the person to hold up the paper with the latest addition included and filmed them. Many drew the most prominent image that they were left with after listening to the song, whilst some wrote their favorite lines from the lyrics. People kept adding to the image that was forming on the paper and the end result, I must say, was rather brilliant. This will be shown as a growing image in the video. It was interesting to see how so many different thoughts that wouldn’t be related otherwise came together as one solid piece to convey one single emotion of loneliness.

The end result of all of the drawings - a masterpiece.

Try it out yourself!

If you’ve got a few minutes to spare, listen to the song and draw what comes into mind after listening to it. Keep adding to the image every time you listen to the song over the next few days and post up the final artwork in the comments section below.

That’s all from me for today! Next time I write a post, I’ll hopefully return with a big surprise. I hope you’re just as excited for the video as my group and I are.

Stay tuned my dear friends!

Both Images are courtesy of myself.

Leave a comment